Glory in the morning run!

Well I did feel so great in this morning run, and “glory” is the right word to describe it!

The peace of seeing people and their relaxing faces in such a beautiful day eased my mind.

IMG_3332

I just took my Ipod with me so the picture resolution was not good enough to capture that tranquility. Anyway, that doesn’t matter much :). As long as I feel good.

Okay, let’s get back to my running story! I picked up the book ” What I talk about when I talk about running” of Murakami not quite long before my friend asked me to join the marathon contest with him in Jan next year. I was a bit reluctant when he said it was a 10k route. For an irregular runner like me, it was quite a big number. It doesn’t mean that I hate sports, I do love it, I swim almost everyday after work but it it seems to stick in my mind that running is not my forte. But I agreed with him anyway as it could be a good goal for me to reach, for the sake of my health!

These days my working schedule was crazy, 8 till 5 in the office and 7 till 10 in school, Monday till Friday and teaching at weekends as well. With such a timetable, sleeping is really a precious thing for me, I adore any minute on my loved bed! There was a day, on my way to work, I nearly dozed off while driving. With all of that, I used to think, there’s no way I will wake up and run in the morning, no way ever. But Murakami and the promise with my friend have been good motives for me to get my ass off my bed. In his book, he was very serious about his running, it was a big thing in his daily routine. The way Murakami wrote his books always attracts his readers, guess I’m a big fan of his style now. It was neither fabulous nor straight forward but something mysterious and the thing that he wrote was for your inner soul. I finished the book, closed it and then turned back to the first page to read it again, to devour every single word, every single quote again. His quotes, are so simple but so fucking deep.

So far, I have make it for 2 weeks now, 1 hour, 6km everyday. But most of the time, I did jogging more than running, I know I was supposed to run rather than walk, but things take time you know:p! This morning, I was quite surprised when I spent most of the time running in the flow of Summer Paradise, I listen carefully to all the lyrics of all the songs in my Ipod. No kidding but I felt effing awesome when I found my self in that state, I was insanely happy. For experienced runners, you may laugh when getting to see these lines, but for not an early morning like me, things like that were “glorious”. While I was running with the music, I looked at people, trees, flowers and dogs, I knew that there was no such thing called chaos in my soul. It was purely peaceful.

IMG_3336

I don’t know how long can I keep this habit but I keep reminding myself that, an early morning rising up is a good morning!

IMG_3346

Some of my favorite parts from WITWITAR

[…] People sometimes sneer at those who run every day, claiming they’ll go to any length to live longer. But I don’t think that’s the reason most people run. Most runners run not because they want to live longer, but because they want to live life to the fullest.[…] Exerting yourself to the fullest within your individual limits: that’s the essence of running, and a metaphor for life – and for me, for writing as well. I believe many runners would agree.

[…]Most ordinary runners are motivated by an individual goal, more than anything: namely, a time they want to beat. As long as he can beat that time, a runner will feel he has accomplished what he set out to do, and if he can’t, then he’ll feel he hasn’t . Even if he doesn’t break the time he’d hoped for, as long as he has the sense of satisfaction at having done his very best- and possibly, having made some significant discovery about himself int he process- then that in itself is an accomplishment, a positive feeling he can carry over to the next race. The same can be said about my profession […]

[…] Forgive me for stating the obvious, but the world is made up of all kinds of people, other people have their own values to live by, and the disagreements, and the combination of these disagreements can give rise to even greater misunderstandings. As a result, sometimes people are unfairly criticized. This goes without saying. It’s not much fun to be misunderstood or criticized, but rather a painful experience that hurts people deeply. As I’ve gotten older, though, I’ve gradually come to the realization that this kind of pain and hurt is a necessary part of life.  If you think about it, it’s precisely because people are different from others that they are able to create their own independent selves. Take me as an example. It’s precisely my ability to detect some aspects of a scene that other people can’t , to feel differently than others and choose words that different from theirs, that’s allowed me to write stories that are mine alone. And because of this we have extraoridinary situation in which quite a few people read what I’ve written. So the fact that I’m me and no one else is one of my greatest assets. Emotional hurt is the price a person has to pay in order to be independent. [..]

There were too many quotes that I can’t type them all here, you need to actually read it to get them all. Noting these lines down and I just wonder ” How can someone not like Murakami’s marvelous thoughts????

Leave a Reply

