The Fault in our Stars and the Cancer books

I have to confess I’m the one who are always behind the trend and I think it’s kind of cool, as long as you don’t do the things that others are crazy about, haha.

It’s kind of hard to write as I really don’t know where to start??

Recently, I buried myself with those desperate loving dying books and they just kept all my thoughts and attention. Those feelings in the book are just so real, so true, so sincere that they made me think about them all the time…

The sister keeper 

Me before you

The fault in our stars

A walk to remember

The book thief

All of which are the ones that I fell in love with every word, every page, every feeling of the character. And coincidentally, they all ended with dying. Am I fed up with happy ending stories already??? Have I lost faith in life already? Deep inside, I’m still grateful for the life I’m having right now, with family and friends but deeper in that wall, there seems like a small void that still exists. I know that I should not let it grow into a big void . And that one day, it may kill me.

The Fault in our Stars and the fear of Oblivion. I have got that fear too, it has existed in my heart  since I knew the definition of death. It does sound scary too me. And that’s the reason why I try to live as joyfully as I can every single day. The down moments in life are absolutely inevitable coz our life is not a roller coaster that always goes up (sorry Gus :p), it should go up and down and that is how we should define life.

“There will come a time when all of us are dead. All of us. There will come a time when there are no human beings remaining to remember that anyone ever existed or that our species ever did anything. There will be no one left to remember Aristotle or Cleopatra, let alone you. Everything that we did and built and wrote and thought and discovered will be forgotten and all of this will have been for naught. Maybe that time is coming soon and maybe it is millions of years away, but even if we survive the collapse of our sun, we will not survive forever. There was time before organisms experienced consciousness, and there will be time after. And if the inevitability of human oblivion worries you, I encourage you to ignore it. God knows that’s what everyone else does.”

The film is good but may not convey all the fond feeling of Hazel for Gus and vice versa. Their love for each other is like infinity, as she said, it does not exist in this normal world, but just in the world where there are only 2 of them. I like the idea of reading the book first before watching the film, and when we watch the film again, we will remember all the words in the book, and like we can recite them and that feeling… is so wonderful. It’s just like reading the book one more time but a different version.

There are some lines that I’m so fond of…

We have bottled all the stars for you tonight…” Gus and Hazel, the two bright stars shining so bright are still in this infinite universe, just like the amazing champagne that night.

 ‘But I will say this: When the scientists of the future show up at my house with robot eyes and they tell me to try them on, I will tell the scientists to screw off, because I do not want to see a world without him.’
I was kind of crying by then.”
“I believe the universe wants to be noticed. I think the universe is inprobably biased toward the consciousness, that it rewards intelligence in part because the universe enjoys its elegance being observed. And who am I, living in the middle of history, to tell the universe that it-or my observation of it-is temporary?”

 

If one was haunted by this book, there is no way one can’t love the OST of this masterpiece. I just keep replaying it for so many times. They are like soft and gentle hands that are touching the inner of your heart and telling you that life is still beautiful and that sometimes, you should slow down, don’t race to0 fast…

http://www.nhaccuatui.com/playlist/the-fault-in-our-stars-ost-va.r5I37bLgSAc4.html?st=15

Leave a Reply

